FANDOM


Details: Edit

Green Party candidate for Reading East


Short biography

I am currently selected as the Green Party candidate for Park Ward -- Newtown and the Wokingham Road area -- in Reading and the Reading East constituency. I live and work in the area as a gardener and am active in the community.



Full biography

Personal



I was born in 1979, and live on Cumberland Road near Cemetery Junction. I have now lived in Reading for 10 years. I lead a busy life, running my own gardening business. I am active in the Newtown GLOBE (Go Local On a Better Environment) community group, I work with the community and police as vice-chair of the Newtown NAG (Neighbourhood Action Group), I am a governor at the Alfred Sutton School and I volunteer as a lollipop man at the same school.



Electoral



I have stood for election in Park Ward in the local elections since 2004, increasing the number of Green votes each time. In the last locals, I finished just 20 votes away from becoming Reading's first Green councillor. I also stood in the General Election for Reading East in 2005 where we increased the vote by 50%.



Political



I have been involved in many successful local campaigns: saving play equipment in Palmer Park, tackling speeding across Reading with the 20's Plenty campaign and getting the Council to produce a climate change strategy to name a few. At a national level I have campaigned against the war in Iraq, for the abolition of tuition fees and for government action on climate change.


I am out all year-round knocking on doors and talking to people about local issues. Through this work I am able to help people solve local problems. I have helped improve the local area by getting countless bins installed, pram crossings created and street lights fixed.

Contact: Edit

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.